Surprise, surprise!

Morning, Glory!

Morning, Glory!

There is something wonderful growing out in the experimental garden. Look! See for yourself!

Wire cages were carefully placed there in the early spring to protect my young greens from visiting rabbits. Tall wire supports were put beside those to support Cherokee Purple and heirloom tomatoes. Two varieties of eggplant and some herbs joined in this space, as did a colorful glass bottle tree for luck. Did I have a real PLAN for this area? Well, no. That was part of the fun and wild abandon with which I approached this area of my garden. I dug the holes for planting with the end of my walking stick–just to see what would happen. I covered the holes by scraping the dirt over the seeds with the toe of my boot. I had water containers available and hauled rainwater from the barrels when it got hot this summer. Sometimes. Admittedly, I wasn’t expecting much and purposely planted the remainder of those seeds in another location, where the trellises were intentionally built for the purpose of supporting vertical growth.

When that part of the garden had produced most of its bounty, and I got busy with other tasks, I didn’t visit that particular area as much as when it needed regular attention. Another part of the fun and challenge of the experimental garden was that I tried to embrace the method of weedless gardening, which works really well when you follow the theories and application. I did most of what I had read about, but still, felt guilty at not being there for a while.

Imagine my surprise when I discovered this wonderful show of flowers which have almost entirely covered the garden area. I’ll take it as a sign that nature truly does understand the characteristics of the creative spirit, which can grow and provide such peace and understanding when we most need it and least expect it. I’m planting seeds now for creative growth, and I’m hopeful the results will be just as amazing.

Flowers form over the garden supports.

Flowers form over the garden supports.

(I wonder…if I build my garden supports really tall, could I sit in there under the flowers next year?)

Happy creating!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

